Yarn Along … OOPS!

I haven’t been around much lately. Not only here … but in most of my go-to spots in my life. Except for home … but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been productive. I finished my first baby blanket. WOOHOO!!! And I LOVE it! I love the shape, the pattern, the yarn I chose and the colors. I crafted this for a friend expecting their baby in early summer and wanted to choose gender-neutral colors as they chose to not find out if it was a boy or a girl! (Surprises are AWESOME!) According to Panda, the color I chose leaned towards baby boy, but I still think the periwinkle/heather grey can work for either.

IMG_20130320_142541_402

I used this pattern and chose Cascade merino/acrylic yarn. After it was complete, I had it draped over the back of our couch and Shortstack declared that he wanted one – especially because it was so soft and looked like a spider web. Guess what he’s getting for his birthday?

I’m so thankful that I had this project to work on this past week. Panda had her 11th knee surgery last Thursday and, keeping my hands busy with this blanket kept the tension and anxiety at a minimum. Since the surgery (which so conveniently coincided with spring break for all of us), our household has been keeping a low profile. Recovery cannot (and should not) be rushed – so all of us have been cuddling in and taking care of Mama Panda. Shortstack is a dedicated boy and is amazing at making sure Mama Panda is comfortable and not over-pushing herself. And just to ensure that she’s behaving herself, he is always ready to curl up on the couch with her and veg out.

IMG_20130321_192218_839

Over the spring break, we’ve been focusing a lot on reading as well. This past month, Shortstack has jumped in feet first into the world of chapter books. OH! This is SOOO exciting for this mama! I am a complete book whore. Yes, you read that correctly! And I’m not ashamed to admit it! So, day-by-day, this little man is conquering a chapter-at-a-time. That is SO COOL!

IMG_20130323_161226_174

One thing I have noticed is that there are not many early-reader chapter books for boys. We have found the Magic Treehouse series and we’ll be searching out some used copies of Captain Underpants books – but wow! There are a multitude of early-reader chapter books for girls but few offerings for boys. I set Shortstack up with his very own shelf in the living room bookshelves for his chapter books and for future-reading-books, including: Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, Into the Wild, the Narnia Series and Lord of the Rings … yes, ambitious, I know – but I also know that he will LOVE these stories!

As for my reading, I picked up a few books this past week. I’ve been slowly making my way through Anita Diamant’s book, Day After Night. I’m a quick reader and I usually devour books – especially ones that captivate me. But this book – it is a slow read for me. Ms, Diamant is an eloquent and convincing storyteller. And she created characters that are compelling and complex. But this book is heavy for me. Set immediately after WW II and in Palestine, the heft of the emotions and societal guilt about the Holocaust is tangible. So, chapter by chapter, I am wading through this book and then letting it sit so that I can absorb and reflect on what these characters are experiencing and the reactions that are being provoked in me.

It has been a quiet, busy week. And we are all looking forward to a quiet holiday weekend.

Here’s to hoping that you and yours will find peace in your week and rest in your home.

Leave a Reply

