Yarn Along #2

A day late … but I sure don’t want to miss out on the fun … thanks to Ginny from the Small Things blog for the welcome and the inspiration.

Full disclosure: I am a crochet-novice, yarn-addict, knitting-hopeful. For the past several weeks, I’ve been a beanie-crocheting junkie! I shared the slouchy beanie pattern last week that I have fallen head over heels for … and that is a super accomplishment from me. When I first picked up a crochet hook, my friend who was teaching me did her best to get me going on her tried-and-true beanie pattern. Well, I failed miserably at it … I don’t know if it was because of the counting, or the sc’s over and over, or if I’m just really dense – but it forced me to set out on a mission to find a beanie pattern that I could conquer and produced a product that fit my needs and desires … and looked good on my peeps! And thus I was introduced to Ravelry (really? I mean, c’mon people, how can you NOT love knitting/crocheting when you find Ravelry??!) … *blissful sigh*

So, the past several weeks have been a beanie frenzy … and word is getting around to our peeps that this mama has picked up a new hobby so requests have started coming in for beanies in particular colors. And I am more than happy to oblige. But today finds me between beanies … with two balls of yarn in stormy colors … these may become a little beanie for me … we shall see.

Today's Treats
Today’s Treats

My current reads are a departure from last week’s books of choice. This week I’ve been focusing on work and purposeful book choices: Where I Am From by Borrego & Manning; GLBTQ: The Survival Guide for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning Teens by Kelly Huegel; On Writing by Stephen King. I am a student affairs professional in higher education and my passion is the research, writing and advocacy work for LGBTQ students, faculty and staff within campus communities that I have been shifting my energies towards in the past two years.  These books are quickly becoming my bibles, guides and shots of inspiration on a daily basis to keep my energies focused on the long-term goals and dreams that I have quietly been piecing together.

The sun is out and the trade winds have died down, so it is another beautiful day in Hawai’i Nei … here’s to hoping that your neck of the woods will possess the beauty that you are hoping for today as well.

Aloha mai …

Leave a Reply

